Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

December 14, 2021

The Honorable Patrick Leahy	The Honorable Richard Shelby
Chairman	Ranking Member
Senate Committee on Appropriations	Senate Committee on Appropriations
The Honorable Jeff Merkley	The Honorable Lisa Murkowski
Chair	Ranking Member
Subcommittee on the Interior, Environment, and	Subcommittee on the Interior, Environment, and
Related Agencies Appropriations	Related Agencies Appropriations
The Honorable Rosa DeLauro	The Honorable Kay Granger
Chair	Ranking Member
House Committee on Appropriations	House Committee on Appropriations
The Honorable Chellie Pingree	The Honorable David Joyce
Chair	Ranking Member
Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies	Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies
Subcommittee	Subcommittee

Dear Chairman Leahy, Vice Chairman Shelby, Chair Merkley, Ranking Member Murkowski, Chair DeLauro, Ranking Member Granger, Chair Pingree, Ranking Member Joyce:

As you work to complete the final Fiscal Year 2022 (FY22) spending bill, we write to thank you for including \$11 million in dedicated funding for the implementation of humane, proven, and reversible immunocontraceptive vaccines in the House and Senate Interior Appropriations bills for the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Wild Horse and Burro (WHB) Program, and we urge you to maintain this funding in the final FY22 spending bill.

This funding is critical for BLM to implement scientifically supported fertility control to ensure an effective and sustainable herd management strategy. Presently, the BLM WHB Program spends less than one percent of its budget implementing fertility control, instead pursuing a fiscally irresponsible, ineffective, and injurious approach of removing horses and keeping them indefinitely in holding facilities. We remain concerned about BLM's May 2020 strategy, which called for mass removals of wild horses and burros from the range, including 20,000 next year alone. Further, as a recent *New York Times* exposé revealed, horses and burros that leave the holding system through the Adoption Incentive Program are at risk of slaughter.

We also thank your Committees for extending critical protections for wild horses and burros from commercial destruction and mass lethal control. In order to further the Committees' efforts to support humane management in the WHB Program, we urge you to incorporate in the final conference report other key aspects of the House and Senate Interior reports, as well as language previously requested by 42 Representatives and 11 Senators. Namely, we urge you to include clear directives for the BLM to:

- Implement reversible immunocontraceptive vaccines (similar to the House report and previously requested language).
- Strengthen adoption contracts to better protect wild horses and burros in the Adoption Incentive Program from slaughter (similar to the House report).
- Develop public-private partnerships for the implementation of humane, proven, and reversible immunocontraceptive fertility control programs (similar to the House report and previously requested language).
- Evaluate Herd Management Areas where wild horses or burros could be relocated to keep these animals on the range and out of costly holding facilities (similar to the House report).
- Brief the Committees with details about the agency's plans for FY22 activities, including its strategy for implementing a vaccination program, within 45 days of enactment and quarterly thereafter (similar to the Senate and House reports).

We believe that these directives will bring much-needed positive change to the WHB Program. Additionally, we encourage the Committees to bolster the House report language by explicitly calling for an Office of Inspector General investigation of the Adoption Incentive Program.

We deeply appreciate your Committees' work to ensure that our nation's wild horses and burros are managed humanely and effectively. Thank you for your dedication to this important animal welfare issue and your recognition of the need to preserve America's iconic wild herds. We welcome the opportunity to work further with you as you finalize the FY22 spending package.

Sincerely,

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

lihar Allomia

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Ron Wyden

United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Mark Kelly United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Ilia Are

Cynthia Axne Member of Congress

al Blumen

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

O.CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

annol

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

. Danio

Danny K. Cavis Member of Congress Chairman, Worker and Family Support

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

min monu

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Madeleine Dear

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

-Hn

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress

James R. Langevin James R. Langevin

Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Koul

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Chair, Committee on Natural Resources

ara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Conologo B. Malore

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

A. Jonel M'Eac L.

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

Enold Hadler

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

be Neguse Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

(Ilan Lowerthal

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Lucy MCBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

hich

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Grace & Mapslitano Grace F. Napolitano

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

stie Port

Katie Porter Member of Congress

tavid frie

David E. Price Member of Congress

Aude J. Janz

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

/ homas 1

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

wille Reyfel Allard

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

hKm

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

David Schweikert Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Rasheda Glaik

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Vargos

Juan Vargas Member of Congress